Home Page arrow Press arrow 2007 US Amateur Team Chess Championships Conclude - Now Four Teams To Compete in Cyberspace!
2007 US Amateur Team Chess Championships Conclude - Now Four Teams To Compete in Cyberspace! Print E-mail
By Joan DuBois   
February 27, 2007
February 27, 2007IA & Chief TD
Press Release #1 of 2007[email protected]

The U.S. Chess Federation is pleased to announce that the four 2007 U.S. Amateur Team Chess Championships concluded. The "64" Square question now is "who will win the playoffs?" and be named "2007 U.S. Amateur Team Playoff Champion."

2007 U.S. Amateur Team North:

At the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Lombard, Illinois, under the direction of
Organizer Chris Merli the team "Repeat Offenders" took first place. Board 1: John Cole (2330); Board 2: John Langreck (2250); Board 3: FM Jim Dean (2234); Board 4: Drew Hollinberger (1982) will represent the 2007 U.S. Amateur Team North in the 2007 Amateur Team Playoff. Finals standings of all participants are located at: http://www.uschess.org/msa/XtblMain.php?200702180331.

2007 U.S.Amateur Team West: (24th Annual):

Under the direction of John Hilley and Elie Hsiao the event concluded with "Orange County Chess Club" taking first place. Board 1: Alexander Kretchetov (2365); Board 2: Ilia Serpik (2307); Board 3: Takashi Iwamoto (2269); Board 4: Krishna Kaliannan (1770). The championship was held Feb. 17-19 at the Marina San Pedro Hotel in San Pedro, California. Additional details are available at: http://www.westernchess.com/atw07/standings.html

2007 U.S. Amateur Team South:

Championship play took place Feb. 16-18 at the Travelodge Hotel Main Gate East in Orlando, Florida under the direction of Harvey Lerman. "Four Fischers Found" won the event and in board order for the upcoming playoffs the champions are: Board 1: Daniel Ludwig (2388); Corey B. Acor (2254); Eric Rodriguez (2209); Board 4: Anthony Felicione (1914). Additional details on all final results can be found at: http://centralflchess.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=39&Itemid=1

2007 World Amateur Team & U.S. Amateur Team East:

Took place Feb. 17-19 at the Parsippany Hilton in Parsippany, New Jersey under the direction of New Jersey State Chess Federation. The team "Beavis and Buttvinnik" took first place. In board order for the playoffs the members of the winning team are: Board 1: FM James Critelli (2311); Board 2: Evan Turtel (2206); Board 3: Evan Rabin (2076); Board 4: Nick Panico III (2043); Alternate: Alan Kantor (2000). Additional details can be found at: http://www.njscf.com.

2007 U.S. Amateur Team Playoffs in Cyberspace!

All four teams will have a playoff on March 24, 2007 in cyberspace at the Internet Chess Club (ICC) website located at: http://www.chessclub.com under the direction of IA/Chief Tournament Director Carol Jarecki. ICC Tournament Director Duncan Oxley will oversee the play on the ICC website. 2007 U.S. Amateur Team Playoff rules are located at: http://www.uschess.org/rulesfor2007amateurteamplayoffs.pdf
on the U.S. Chess Federation website. Be sure to view the play and become part of the chess fun! The team who wins will not only receive the title of "2007 U.S. Amateur Team Champions" but each member of the winning team will receive an engraved watch.