Home Page arrow Press arrow 2007 Scholar-Chessplayer Awards
2007 Scholar-Chessplayer Awards Print E-mail
By Jerry Nash   
May 15, 2007
May 15, 2007Scholastic Director
Press Release #12 of 2007[email protected]

(CROSSVILLE, TN))The Scholar-Chessplayer Outstanding Achievement Awards for 2007 were announced today by the Scholastic Council of the United States Chess Federation. These scholarships are given to high school juniors and seniors who excel in academics, chess, and leadership. This year all five winners will receive equal $1500.00 scholarships. These annual awards are given by the U.S. Chess Trust, the National Scholastic Chess Foundation, and the U.S. Chess Federation and are intended to encourage high school students who promote a positive image of chess. Congratulations to the winners and a special thank you to all of the thirty students who applied.

The 2007 Scholar-Chessplayer Award Recipients are:
Vanishav Aradhyula, AZ
Eric Dong, TX
Francisco Guadalupe, TX
Trevor Jackson, LA
Peter Yeh, TX

To apply for the Scholar-Chessplayer Award, you must be a current U.S. Chess Federation member and submit five copies of a completed application form, high school transcript showing all courses and grades, a letter of recommendation from a teacher, a letter of recommendation from a chess coach, an essay of no more than 500 words describing the positive influence that chess has had on your life, and a recent photograph. The deadline for the next award, the 2008 Scholar-Chessplayer Award, is March 1, 2008.
Thanks to the generosity of its long-time supporters, the Chess Trust continues to fund many wonderful programs including the Scholar-Chessplayer Awards. Please spread the word to potential donors to "Say Yes to Chess!"