The Chess Party Begins in Indiana Print E-mail
August 1, 2009
Group shot at the opening ceremony of the Denker Tournament of High School Champions, Photo courtesy
The 9-day, traditional schedule of the 110th U.S. Open, The Denker tournament of high school champions and the World Chess Live tournament of College Champions all began on August 1, in Indianapolis, Indiana. Participants in the Denker include Cadet Champ Andrew Ng of New Jersey and 11th Grade National co-champs Jeffrey Haskel of Florida and CLO reporter Abby Marshall of Virginia. Top seeds in the 9-day schedule of the Open include GM-elect Alex Lenderman and GM Alex Yermolinsky. Watch the games live on .

Jeffrey Haskel

It's also not too late to sign up for simuls with Women's World Champion Alexandra Kosteniuk (August 6th) and U.S. Champion Hikaru Nakamura (August 7th). See the official press release here.
See tournament details of the main event and follow pairings and results here.

Also check for live coverage of the event and look for blogs on CLO by Abby Marshall and reports from Macauley Peterson from the main event.

Abby Marshall

State C Year Name
Alabama C 2009 Jeffrey Byrd
Alaska C 2009 Matthew Parshall
Arizona C 2009 John M. Williams
Arkansas C 2009 Joshua Elander
California N. C 2009 Evan Sandberg
California S. C 2009 Vincent Huang
Colorado C 2009 Richard Herbst
Connecticut C 2009 Michael Finneran
 Florida C 2009 Jeffrey Haskel
Georgia C 2009 Spencer Bledsoe
Hawaii C 2009 Robert Lau
Idaho C 2009 Erica Barkell
Illinois C 2009 Trevor Magness
Indiana C 2009 Daniel Gater
Indiana-ALT C 2009 Joshua Matti
Iowa C 2009 Matt Anzis
Kansas C 2009 Gabriel Purdy
Kentucky C 2009 Nick Burnett
Louisiana C 2009 Kyle Hecker
Maine C 2009 Lucas McCain
Maryland C 2009 James Pinkerton
Massachusetts C 2009 Felix Yang
Michigan C 2009 Ian Edgerle
Minnesota C 2009 Michael Yang
Missouri C 2009 Brad Schlosser
Nebraska C 2009 Albert Zhou
Nevada C 2009 Richard Lee
New Hampshire C 2009 Cameron Burger
New Jersey C 2009 Andrew Ng
New Mexico C 2009 John Flores
New York C 2009 Deepak Aaron
North Carolina C 2009 David L. High
North Dakota C 2009 David Eckman
Ohio C 2009 Michael Vilenchuck
Oklahoma C 2009 Ryan Farell
Oregon C 2009 Steven Breckenridge
Pennsylvania C 2009 Joshua A. Bowman
Rhode Island C 2009 James Ryan
South Carolina C 2009 Daniel Dodds
South Dakota C 2009 Kyle Jensen
Tennessee C 2009 Patrick J. Tae
Texas C 2009 William Ong
Utah C 2009 Adam Mielke
Vermont C 2009 Michael Brooks
Virginia C 2009 Abby Marshall
Washington C 2009 Kerry Xing
West Virginia C 2009 Sidhartha Parhi
Wisconsin C 2009 Hongkai Pan
Wyoming C 2009 Chris R. Andrews