Home Page arrow Chess Life Online arrow 2015 arrow March arrow Sevian and Troff 2015 Samford Fellows
Sevian and Troff 2015 Samford Fellows Print E-mail
By IM John Donaldson   
March 19, 2015
Photo 2013 by Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images for the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis

The FRANK P. SAMFORD, JR. CHESS FELLOWSHIP, marking its twenty-ninth annual award, has selected Grandmasters Samuel Sevian of Southbridge, Massachusetts, and Kayden Troff of West Jordan, Utah, as its 2015 Fellows. The Samford is the richest and most important chess fellowship in the United States. It identifies and assists the best young American chess masters by providing top-level coaching, strong competition and access to study materials. The Fellowship also supplies a monthly stipend for living expenses so that the winners may devote themselves to chess without having financial worries. The total value of the Fellowship has been increased several times over the years and is now $42,000 annually which will be split between the two winners. The prize is awarded for one year and can be renewed for a second year. The winners' term begins July 1st, 2015.

Samuel Sevian and Kayden Troff are both former World Youth Champions, Samuel winning the under 12 title and Kayden the under 14 in 2012. They also have nearly identical ratings going into the 2015 U.S. Championship which they will be competing in. Both players are currently rated 2642 USCF, with Kayden 2532 FIDE and Samuel 2531. They are two of the youngest winners of the Samford Fellowship with Kayden age 16 and Samuel two years younger.
GM Kayden Troff at the 2014 US Junior Championships

The winners were chosen by the Samford Fellowship Committee, consisting of Frank P. Samford III (son of Samford Fellowship founder Frank P. Samford, Jr.), former U.S. Chess Champion Grandmaster Yury Shulman and International Master John Donaldson. The winners' potential was determined based on their chess talent, work ethic, dedication and accomplishments. The Fellowship is administered by the U.S. Chess Trust with particularly valuable services provided by Barbara DeMaro.

The Samford Chess Fellowship was created by the late Frank P. Samford, Jr. of Birmingham Alabama. Mr. Samford was a distinguished attorney and CEO of Liberty National Life Insurance Company (now Torchmark). He was active in civic, business, political, educational and cultural affairs. Mr. Samford was also an enthusiastic competitor in chess tournaments. After providing financial support for several chess projects he decided to do something significant for American chess. The result was the Samford Fellowship.

Since its inception the Fellowship has proven very successful. Many Samford Fellows have become strong Grandmasters, members of the United States Olympiad team and US Champions. America's top player Hikaru Nakamura, currently rated number three in the world, is a former Samford Fellow.

Generous contributions from the late Mrs. Virginia Samford and the Torchmark Corporation support the Fellowship. The Samford Fellowship is a fitting memorial to an extraordinary man. The dedication, creativity and achievement that marked Mr. Frank P. Samford, Jr.'s life are examples for all chess players to admire and emulate.

Samford Winners:
1987 Joel Benjamin
1988 Maxim Dlugy
1989 Patrick Wolff
1990 Alex Fishbein
1991 Ilya Gurevich
1992 Alex Sherzer
1993 Ben Finegold
1994 Gata Kamsky
1995 Josh Waitzkin
1996 Tal Shaked
1997 Boris Kreiman
1998 Dean Ippolito
1999 Greg Shahade
2000 Michael Mulyar
2001 Eugene Perelshteyn
2002 Varuzhan Akobian
2003 Dmitry Schneider
2004 Rusudan Goletiani
2005 Hikaru Nakamura
2006 David Pruess
2007 Josh Friedel
2008 Vinay Bhat
2008 Irina Krush

2009 Ray Robson
2010 Robert Hess
2011 Alex Lenderman
2012 Timur Gareev
2012 Alejandro Ramirez
2013 Sam Shankland
2014 Daniel Naroditsky 
2015 Samuel Sevian
2015 Kayden Troff