Home Page arrow Earth vs. Space Chess Match 2008 arrow Time To Make The Donuts...
Time To Make The Donuts... Print E-mail
By Glenn Petersen, Editor, Chess Life for Kids   
October 24, 2009
Our Wizards from Washington have once again answered the call and have given Earthlings three choices for their 36th move.
After NASA Astronaut Greg Chamitoff's 36. Nb3, the young students from Stevenson Elementary School have decided that 36 ... Kg8, 36 ... Bc4, and 36 ... a2 are all reasonable courses of action.  It is now up to Earth to determine the best of the best choices.
Use the links at the right to view the game score or to check out the moves you are considering.  And don't forget you can work out your variations using the Chessmagnetschool Java viewer link.

Register your vote by 9 PM EDT on Tuesday, October 27 (6 PM PDT Tuesday/3 AM CEST Wednesday).
The kids didn't say it but I will:  It's time to stop waffling and to make the donuts!

Use the links in the menu to the right to view the complete move list or to play over the game in our Java game viewer.

Greg Chamitoff vs. Earth (after 36.Nb3)


Reminder: Don't miss a moment of this historic match - add our RSS feed to keep up with the latest developments, as articles and moves are posted here, and as voting periods occur.
Earth vs. Space Chess Match, 2008-09

Astronaut Dr. Greg Chamitoff has sent 46.Kxa2 and his resignation and congratulations to the Stevenson stars and Earth's voters.
Use the Java chess viewer (below) to review and analyze this historic game and read game commentary.

Explore the game in our Chess Viewer

(Click here for help with Java or the chess viewer, or click here for a move list.)

The Final Position:
(after Greg's 46.Kxa2)


Read NASA's announcement about this game.

If you don't know all the rules of chess, and would like to learn, click here.