Home Page arrow Earth vs. Space Chess Match 2008 arrow Stay the Course or Weigh Anchor!
Stay the Course or Weigh Anchor! Print E-mail
By Glenn Petersen, Editor, Chess Life for Kids   
October 6, 2009
Those are the choices given to Earthlings by the Stevenson Elementary School chess club members, in response to Astronaut Greg Chamitoff's 34.Kf2.

Earth can choose to "stay the course" with 34 ... a4, marching towards the a1 promotion square, or Earth can "weigh anchor" with 34 ... Kg8, bringing the king into play from its lonely berth on h8.

Whatever your wont may be in these types of positions, make sure your voice is heard by registering your vote by Midnight EDT on Friday, October 9 (9 PM PDT Friday/6 AM CEST Saturday).

Use the links in the menu to the right to view the complete move list or to play over the game in our Java game viewer.

Weigh anchor or stay the course ... it's up to you!

Greg Chamitoff vs. Earth (after 34.Kf2)


Reminder: Don't miss a moment of this historic match - add our RSS feed to keep up with the latest developments, as articles and moves are posted here, and as voting periods occur.
Earth vs. Space Chess Match, 2008-09

Astronaut Dr. Greg Chamitoff has sent 46.Kxa2 and his resignation and congratulations to the Stevenson stars and Earth's voters.
Use the Java chess viewer (below) to review and analyze this historic game and read game commentary.

Explore the game in our Chess Viewer

(Click here for help with Java or the chess viewer, or click here for a move list.)

The Final Position:
(after Greg's 46.Kxa2)


Read NASA's announcement about this game.

If you don't know all the rules of chess, and would like to learn, click here.